Warrington Town are Academy champions

12 May 2018 in Match Reports

Warrington Town are Academy champions Warrington Town are Academy champions

WARRINGTON Town’s youngsters have been crowned Northern Premier League Football Academy champions after a dramatic Grand Final win over Matlock Town.


Bobbie McDonnell scored the winner in the 94th minute as the Yellows fought from behind to win 3-2 at Harrison Park, home of Leek Town.

Matlock took the lead inside 15 minutes as Josh Devereux’s long free kick was bundled in with the Yellows calling for a foul on ‘keeper Josh Wainwright.

Trailing 1-0 at half time, Warrington levelled things up in the early minutes of the second half through Aaron McGrath but were behind again by 50 minutes, as Devereux’s penalty restored Matlock’s goal advantage.

But it was to be Warrington’s day as first McGrath grabbed a late equaliser before McDonnell popped up in injury time to win the title.

NPL Football Academy@NPLFA


It’s another late goal in the

Bobbie Mcdonnell@theyellows 3-2 @Matlock_TownFC


Warrington Town: Wainwright, Jones, Brocklehurst, Wright, Hamlett, White, Ward, Ruane, McDonnell, McGrath, Brown. Subs: Kolacinski, Emery-Woods, Griffiths.

Matlock Town: Smith-Eccles, Finney, Webb, Devereux, Hall, Furness, Houghton, Carrington, Sorrell, Knowles, Brough. Subs: Gladwin, Elliott, Plant, De Girolamo.


Older Newer